Amarillo early voting down, candidates wait for Election Day turnout

With Election Day coming up Tuesday, early voting ended across the state Friday, and Amarillo area early voting totals were down from the 2018 midterm terms in both Potter and Randall counties.

Potter County election officials reported 12,234 votes cast during the early voting process, compared to 13,892 cast in the 2018 election. These vote totals represent a 12% drop in early voting from the 2018 midterm. Potter County had received 1,313 mail-in ballots out of the 1,622 that were requested.

Randall County, which did not include the last day of voting at the time of this article, saw early voting drop from 33,085 to its current number of about 25,866. While still waiting on data from the final day of voting, which is usually the busiest day of voting, the numbers are still expected to be about 13 to 15% lower than the 2018 midterms unless record numbers voted on the last day of early voting. As of Thursday evening, Randall County had received 2,395 of 2,860 requested mail-in ballots.

Local elections offices are introducing new paper-based voting equipment, available for the public to experience on Wednesday at the Potter County Ticket Office, Randall County Annex, and Randall County Election Offices.

Statewide, the gubernatorial race between incumbent Texas Gov. Greg Abbott and his Democratic challenger Beto O’Rourke has been front and center as the most expensive governor’s race in history, with more than $20 million spent between both parties. While Abbott leads in the polls, the margin is single digits. O’Rourke has done five election events in Amarillo since he was announced, and Abbott recently had a rally in Amarillo during the early voting period.

Other statewide races up for election include:

  • Lieutenant Governor: Dan Patrick (R) vs. Mike Collier (D)
  • Attorney General: Ken Paxton (R) vs. Rochelle Garcia (D)
  • Comptroller of Public Accounts: Glenn Hegar (R) vs. Janet Dudding (D)
  • Commissioner of General Land Office: Dawn Buckingham (R) vs. Jay Kleberg (D)
  • Commissioner of Agriculture: Sid Miller (R) vs. Susan Hays (D)
  • Railroad Commissioner: Wayne Christian (R) vs. Luke Warford (D)